- atreyu - The Time Is Now


Dan Jacobs  |  Porter McKnight  |  Travis Miguel  |  Brandon Saller  |  Alex Varkatzas

Everyone leaves a legacy behind. No matter how big or small, our words and actions echo forever and make a lasting imprint.


Two decades since their 1999 formation in Southern California, that truth weighed heavy on the members of G old-selling metal mavericks , Atreyu - Alex Varkatzas [vocals], Brandon Saller [drums/vocals], “BIG” Dan Jacobs [guitar], Travis Miguel [guitar], and Porter McKnight [bass].


Of course, their musical legacy speaks for itself. 2002’s Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses established them as an influential force, while 2004 follow-up , The Curse sold more than 400,000 copies as the group rose to global renown. A Deathgrip on Yesterday and 2007’s Lead Sails Paper Anchor both bowed in the Top 10 of the Billboard Top 200 with the latter garnering a G old certification from the RIAA - a highly rare accomplishment for a 21st - century rock band.


Following a hiatus post-Congregation of the Damned in 2009, the musicians returned firing on all cylinders with Long Live in  2015. It crashed the Top 30 of the Billboard Top 200 and earned widespread acclaim from the likes of Revolver, Loudwire, AXS, and Kerrang! who dubbed it “ one hell of a return.” Along the way, the b and  sold out countless headline shows , in addition to sharing the stage with everyone from Slipknot and Linkin Park to Chris Cornell and Avenged Sevenfold.


As they commenced writing for their seventh full-length album , In Our Wake [Spinefarm], the band posed an important question…“What are you going to leave behind?”, asks Brandon. “We named the album ' In Our Wake ' , because a lot of the concepts address this question. There are lyrics about dealing with your own personal demons and darkness. Some of it is about our children, which is who live s directly in our wake. Others are about the general public and the outpouring of hate and fear—especially in our country. We created something of a concept record without even trying.” “Everything we do causes a ripple or a wake,” adds Alex. “It can be positive and good, or it can be fucked up and horrible. However, we are the masters of our own destiny. We want ed to leave something good behind.”


Following a two-year tour cycle for Long Live, Atreyu regrouped in Southern California and started sharing ideas for what would become offering number seven. Ceremoniously, they all agreed it would be the right time to reunite with producer John Feldmann who famously helmed Lead Sails and Paper Anchor. “ While Long Live was really heavy and reminiscent of our early material,” continues Brandon. “While we were on the road, fans kept asking to hear more from Lead Sails and Paper Anchor. It made us want to revisit that era of the band. It was a fun, experimental, and explorative time for us, and  it was  just so much fun. We wanted to give ourselves and the landscape of heavy music a jolt, so we reached out to Feldmann.”


The band recorded in two chunks bookended by Brandon’s touring obligations for Hell Or Highwater. Working out of Feldmann’s Los Angeles studio, they embraced this new approach as the producer still made them “wonderfully uncomfortable and willing to push harder,” according to Alex. “Every song with the exception of two was fully written in the studio,” says Brandon. “We’d split off into groups and crank out two ideas per day. We’d never written a fresh idea from scratch every day. Spontaneity makes things flow so much better though. We also never spread an album out like this either. We laid the foundation with five recordings, sat with them, and finished with a better picture of where we wanted to go.”


As a result, the record sees Atreyu once again evolve. A ticking clock gives way to a stadium-size chant on there album's first radio  single , “The Time Is Now.” It see - saws between a robust beat and scorching call-and-response by Alex and Brandon as they carry the carpe - diem chorus. “It’s all about just grabbing life by the balls, picking yourself up by your bootstraps, and realizing you only have one shot at this,” Brandon goes on. “That was very reminiscent and reflective of this album. In our heads, there’s no time to fuck around or just do what we’ve always done. We have to really fucking go for it. Tomorrow totally isn’t promised, so we just went for it.”


In the end, In Our Wake doesn’t just reaffirm Atreyu’s legacy, it expands it like never before. “We want to give listeners an experience,” Alex concludes. “Every track functions as its own moment. There’s something that you can hopefully come back and listen to again and again.”“I feel like this is the record that people will remember our band by,” Brandon states. “I’m saying that because the best parts of Atreyu happened on it. We’re continuing something we began a long time ago. This band means everything to me. We’ve been through incredible highs and incredible lows. We’ve loved each other, and we’ve wanted to kill each other. Somehow, twenty years later, it’s reached a whole new level. I feel like we’re alive, and Atreyu has never been more on fire than we are right now.”

330 Mounts Corner Drive #207 Freehold, NJ 07728 | 732-426-1444 | info@landsharkpromotion.com

Copyright 2007-2018 LAND SHARK Promotion Studio. Website by Aven Designs

- atreyu - The Time Is Now
- atreyu - The Time Is Now
- atreyu - The Time Is Now
- atreyu - The Time Is Now



Dan Jacobs

Porter McKnight

Travis Miguel

Brandon Saller

Alex Varkatzas

330 Mounts Corner Drive #207 Freehold, NJ 07728

732-426-1444 | info@landsharkpromotion.com

Copyright 2007-2018 LAND SHARK Promotion Studio.

Website by Aven Designs

- atreyu - The Time Is Now